God working ‘destructively’?

Have you ever thought about God being a ‘destructive’ God? Strange thought isn’t it in light of todays theologically impoverished church culture in which we live. Now I am not talking about God wiping out all the bad guys because he loves us more than them. I am not referring to His activity in regards to the flood or Sodom and Gomorrah or even Ananias and Sapphira. What I am referring to is when God works in our lives destructively in order to work in a redemptive fashion for His greater glory. Thats right, God’s main concern in our lives is that He receives glory through our circumstances and our living out our days in light of His will and way for us. Throughout scripture God demonstrates this in the lives of His People. Joseph, Paul, Moses, Stephen, Job and even His precious son – JESUS. My job is to find God in the mess that is sometimes my life. I made this statement in a message on this topic, “I believe God is doing all He can to press the me out of me”. I know that God desires to chisel away anything that hides the image of Jesus in me. His Word states clearly that I am pre destined to be like Jesus.

Romans 8:28–29 (ESV)
28 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. 29 For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.

It is obvious than all of these ‘things’ which are often so hard to understand is simply God working in me for His greater glory (Thats the ‘good’) in and that I will be like Jesus! Hallelujah!

Our church has been through some tough times here of late. It does not matter what and why, it is just enough to say that we have been challenged to the point of at times despair. This has been true in the life of our staff and in the life of our leadership. Yet, we see God purposing a greater work in us. We desire to be a deeper, more Christlike, suffering and even at times perplexed people who are doing nothing more than walking the broken road of redemption, looking through a stained and cloudy glass, waiting on the ultimate redemption of our great God. Why would we not suffer and be despised when the one who we claim to follow was rejected and despised of men? Our church is going to be just fine because we know God is far from through with us. We also know that we are not excused form the trials and the difficult stuff of life. God is growing us, He is stretching us, and at times He is actually working destructively in us so that we look more like Jesus! We are the clay – He is the Potter!

This is what it means when we say we …FOLLOW… Him.

Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far
and Grace will lead me home.

Leave a Reply

